Breaking News

Winners of J&K Sightless Judo Team felicitated

Jammu, November 12 | For the first time, J&K sightless Judoka’s win 16 medals in 8th National judo champion. J&K Sub-junior sightless girls won winner trophy and best Judoka trophy. J&K sightless judoka’s won 16 medals in 8th National blind Judo championship held at Hyderabad from 1st to 4th November 2019.

On their return, the winners were felicitated in a function at LBM school for sightless girls Roopnagar run by National Blind federation. The chief guest on the occasion was Former Minister and Ex-MLA Jammu West Sat Sharma (CA) and guest of honours were Sunita Gupta councillor ward 37, Rekha Manhas councillor Ward no 62, Ravish Mengi Janipur BJP Mandal president, Urvashi Gupta District vice president BJP.

Speaking on the occasion, Sat Sharma congratulated the specially-abled players and their coaches and said that it is a proud moment for us that youngsters who have lost the ability to see have bagged the number of medals in the sport and it proves that nothing is impossible in front of hard work, he added.

The 30 member judo team including 16 boys and 14 girls was accompanied by Munish Chatwal, Seema Rana and Deepika Wazir as caretaker and team manager along with their coach Suraj Bhan Singh of J&K State Sports Council. The team won 4 gold, 7 silver and 5 bronze medals in different age and weight groups.

Vikas Gupta General sect J&K Judo Association lauded the efforts of principal Nivedita Shukla, convenor Vikas Mohinder K.Badayal (NBF) and judo coach Suraj Bhan Singh.

Medal winners for Sub-junior girls category below 39 kg were Shahnaz Akhtar as 1st and Fiza Johar as 2nd. Below 35kg Riya Devi – 2nd and Sakshi Devi – 3rd, Below 40 kg Bhumika Chib – 1st, Anekha Chib – 1st, Mehak Meera – 2nd, Adiba Choudhary- 2nd and

Nazia Akhter – 2nd. In Junior girls below 44kg category Manisha Devi – 3rd and Dhamini Bandral- 3rd. In Senior women category Pooja Bali- 2nd. In Sub-junior boys category below 30 kg Tariq Hussain – 2nd & Abrar Ahmed- 3rd. In below 35 kg Anshuman Sharma – 2nd. In Senior Men below 90 kg category, Imam Hussain bagged 3rd position.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.