Breaking News

ReT Forum holds protest against IGNOU for harassment

Jammu, January 16 | J&K ReT Teachers’ Forum under the leadership of UT President Vinod held a strong protest at Press Club Jammu against the lethargic attitude of the IGNOU authorities of J&K which had made suffer thousands of teachers, persuing their B.Ed. through IGNOU. A large number of teachers gathered outside the Press Club and while shouting slogans against IGNOU authorities tried to march towards Regional centre of IGNOU but they were stopped by the police and they held a strong protest outside the Press Club.

Addressing a large gathering in the protest Vinod Sharma alleged that due to mismanagement of IGNOU authorities, two papers have been cancelled and Examination Centres were fixed only at District Headquarters thereby forcing the teachers of far-flung areas to travel a long distance to reach the centres and even they had to hire rooms to stay. He also alleged that in District Reasi no centre was established and teachers had to travel hundreds of kilometres to reach Jammu. Last year too teachers from other districts were harassed by establishing their centres at Mahore.

He also lamented the IGNOU authorities for ignoring all rules of the university as this year Date sheet of B.Ed. was uploaded 3 days before the examination and Hall tickets were uploaded just two days prior to the examination, also study materials were not provided to the teachers which show the harassing attitude of the IGNOU authorities. They also alleged that till date no classes (2nd year) have been arranged for B.Ed. aspirants and examination have been conducted.

The speakers further blamed that due to the harassing attitude of the Jammu IGNOU two papers have been cancelled and thousands of teachers are made to suffer and said that ReT Forum will not tolerate such harassment and demanded immediate revocation of such order. They demanded the immediate shift of the IGNOU staff from Jammu.

Others who also spoke during the protest were Sukhdev Singh Sumbria Chief Coordinator; Gulzabir Daing, UT vice president; Rajesh Jamwal, Provincial President; Sham Sharma, Surjit Singh, Manzoor Khan, Surinder Khajuria, Balbir Bhagat, Suash Chander, Pankaj Verma, Balwan Singh, Mohd Yousuf Shah, Ashaq Jaral, Amiet Wani, sabir seikh, Mohd Mumtaz, Gulam Nabi, Hukum chand and others.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.