Breaking News

One member in Delimitation must from Jammu: Team Jammu

Jammu, February 23 | Hailing decision of the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) to initiate the process of setting up Delimitation Commission to redraw the territorial limits of 90 Assembly Segments of Union Territory (UT) of J&K, Team Jammu on Sunday emphasized the need of nominating a member from Jammu region, for three-member panel, to ensure justice with this part of the UT.

Addressing executive committee meeting, Chairman of Team Jammu, Zorawar Singh Jamwal observed that setting up Delimitation Commission was the long pending genuine demand of the people of Jammu region who have faced political discrimination due to wrong biased approach of the successive state governments.

“Earlier such panels, constituted by the successive state governments from time to time, had failed to do justice with Jammu region”, Team Jammu chief Zorawar Singh Jamwal said and hoped that carrying out a delimitation exercise for getting more seats for Jammu region in Assembly would end political discrimination.

“We are a strong advocate for redrawing the long-pending delimitation of constituencies in Jammu and Kashmir to ensure balanced and equitable development”, Zorawar Singh said and observed that initiative taken by the MHA would correct the alleged inequity and regional disparity towards the Jammu province, and also provide representation to all reserved categories in the Assembly of UT.

Chairman Zorawar Singh Jamwal reminded that previous Farooq Abdullah government had amended the state constitution in 2002 under which “until the relevant figures for the first census taken after the year 2026 have been published, it shall not be necessary to readjust the total number of seats in the Legislative Assembly of the state and the division of the state into territorial constituencies under this sub-section”. He observed that this amendment in the constitution was part of the biggest game-plan to deprive Jammu of its political power.

Zorawar Singh Jamwal said that after MHA’s initiative Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) had nominated Sunil Arora, Election Commissioner, as its representative to the Delimitation Commission for J&K.

“The three-member panel will be headed by sitting/retired Chief Justice of India and one member falling under the set criteria and having knowledge about the topography should be from Jammu Province”, Chairman Team Jammu, said Zorawar Singh Jamwal and reiterated the demand of provision of domicile and land and job security for youth of J&K, at an earliest.

Among others present in the meeting included Rajesh Kapoor, Er Chandan Datta, Sunil Raipuria, Surinder Sharma, Sanjay Verma, Sunil Singh Babloo, Sunil Gupta, Bhanu Pratap, Ashok Kumar, Bharat Sharma, Arun Jojra, S. Trilook Singh and Akshay Gupta.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.